Dreams Khel

Sports Latest News & Updates

Complete list of cricket world cup winners captains


In the 12 editions, Australia (five times), India (twice), West Indies (twice), England (once), Pakistan (once) and Sri Lanka (once) has come out as the World Cup winners.

cricket world cup winners captains list

1975West IndiesClive Lloyd
1979West IndiesClive Lloyd
1983IndiaKapil Dev
1987AustraliaAllan Border
1992PakistanImran Khan
1996Sri LankaArjuna Ranatunga
1999AustraliaSteve Waugh
2003AustraliaRicky Ponting
2007AustraliaRicky Ponting
2011IndiaMS Dhoni
2015AustraliaMichael Clarke
2019EnglandEoin Morgan

Below is the summary of the list of cricket world cup winners captains list.

West Indies World Cup-winning: (1975 and 1979)

Captain:- Clive Lloyd

cricket world cup winners captains list

FIrst two World Cups were won by West Indies under Clive Lloyd captain. The West Indies team won World Cups in 1975 and 1979. The Clive Lloyd’s cricket records are; 

The best batsman during his day was Clive Lloyd. In the 175 test innings, he had scored 7515 runs. He had scored 1977 in ODIs with an average of approx 40 in his batting career. Basically, he’s one of the greatest test captains ever.

India World Cup-winning: 1983

Captain:- Kapil Dev

cricket world cup winners captains list

Kapil was his time ‘s popular all-rounder. This is India’s first World Cup title. This Indian World Cup victory is the toughest because the team of West Indies was so a really powerful team. But The Indian team still stops its success. 

Kapil had done 5248 test runs with the help of 8 centuries and ODIs did 3783 runs with the only one century (175 Not Out).

In test matches, Kapil has taken 434 wickets.

cricket world cup winners captains list

Australia World Cup-winning: 1987

Captain:- Alan Border

cricket world cup winners captains list

The 1987 World Cup co-hosted India and Pakistan and became the favourite team of the world cup as well.  But Australia-led by Alan Border won this World Cup in the final by beating England.

Pakistan World Cup-winning: 1992

Captain:- Imran Khan

cricket world cup winners captains list

This World Cup was co-hosted by New Zealand and Australia. By beating England in the final match Pakistan won its first World Cup. After Gary Sobers, Imran Khan is the second most successful all-rounder of the world. In the test matches and the ODIs, Imran Khan has scored 3800 runs. However, in tests, he took 362 wickets and in ODIs 182 wickets. 

Sri Lanka World Cup-winning: 1996

Captain:- Arjuna Ranatunga

cricket world cup winners captains list


In 1996, Pakistan and India co-hosted this World Cup. By beating Australia, Sri Lanka won its first World Cup. 

Jayasuriya and Ramesh Kaluvitarne opened the World Cup with the most successful opening. A century in the final match, Arvinda D’Silva was the winner of the first World Cup in Sri Lanka in 1996.

Australia World Cup-winning: 1999

Captain:- Steve Waugh

cricket world cup winners captains list

This is the 2nd world Cup for Australia.  In the final played in London, Australia beat Pakistan. 

In the finals, Steve Waugh scored 120 out of 110 and led his team into the semi-finals. Steve Waugh again scored 56 races in the semi-finals to give South Africans the target for 213 runs, but Africa does not achieve this target.

Australia World Cup-winning: 2003 & 2007

Captain:- Ricky Ponting

cricket world cup winners captains list

After Clive Lloyd, Ricky Ponting has won two World Cups in Cricket. It was Australia 3rd and 4th World Cup trophy. 

At the ICC Cricket World Cup, Sachin Tendulkar hit the six hundred, while Ricky Ponting hit the fifth century. Ponting is the player with the highest number of centuries after Sachin, with 71 centuries.

cricket world cup winners captains list

Indian World Cup-winning: 2011

Captain:- MS Dhoni

cricket world cup winners captains list

As the best cricket finisher in the world, MS Dhoni is famous. He is the only Indian captain to win the World Cup and the T20 World Cup for ICC cricket. No other Indian captain won two World Cups except Dhoni. 

This was the Indian team’s second World Cup Cricket Trophy. The host country won the World Cup for the first time. In the final played in Mumbai, India beat Sri Lanka. I hope that every Indian lover of cricket will remember Dhoni’s six.

Australia World Cup-winning: 2015

Captain:- Michael Clarke

cricket world cup winners captains list

Clarke is Australia’s fourth most successful World Cup captain. This was the 5th Cricket World Cup in Australia overall. In winning 5th World Cup title, Australia beat New Zealand. Australia is the country with the highest success with 5 World Cups. The World Cup has also been won 2 times each by India and the West Indians

Australia World Cup-winning: 2019

Captain:- Eoin Morgan

cricket world cup winners captains list

It is the first English team ICC world cup cricket and Morgan becomes the first England captain to win the ICC world cup cricket.